all to all

20/11/2010 § 6 Comments

I got 3 rolls of film developed the other day, 2 from Venice and one from around Holland. I’m excited to share them all but I think I’ll make my way through the Venice ones first.

We arrived in Venice after dark. I don’t remember much from my first boat ride.. I was shuffled uncomfortably around from one side of the vaporetto to the other. But when I stepped off onto the dock, even though it was dark I was immediately struck by how surreal Venice is. My friends and I joked all weekend about who would have decided to build a city in such a weird place…there really is no place like it. The narrow streets are crowded during the day but at night the city dies… there’s no one around. We were walking back to our hotel after dinner and drinks one night and the fog had rolled in.. the streets were dim and misty and the only real sign of life we saw was a stray dog running from one alley to another. [I didn’t have my camera on me at the time or it would have made for a cool picture]. More pictures soon.. I took quite  few at the Biennale as well.

Last night I went to see one of my favourite Canadian bands, Broken Social Scene, in Amsterdam. It was a really good concert and it was kind of neat to get a bit of Canada in the Netherlands. This song is one of my favourites. This weekend is work work work but tomorrow I’m having a Sinterklaas/Thanksgiving dinner with my dutch relatives.. should be fun!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to all to all

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading all to all at you are here..

meta