DTES

14/03/2010 § 6 Comments

While I was walking around Chinatown with Eric we headed down East Hastings for a bit. Despite the problems in this area, the people that live here seem to have a real sense of community and it does have a lot of character.. and a lot of cool old signs.

The tall, skinny building the the middle photo intrigues me for some reason. The whole side is covered with corrugated metal.. it seems a bit intimidating. I’d like to take more photos in this area soon, there are some pretty interesting old buildings.

I’m going to spend today organizing my photos on flickr [which I pretty much have never used] and working on my website. My mom and I are going to some antique places later, I think I’m going to bring my Canon along to take some pictures. I hope everyone is enjoying the weekend!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to DTES

  • Allison says:

    I like the light colors in these photos. Did you go to that Ovaltine cafe? I wonder if they actually serve a lot of ovaltine stuff. Did you ever drink that as a kid? My neighbors were obsessed with it.

    • elsa says:

      Thanks! I didn’t actually go in.. I’ve heard it’s pretty retro inside [but apparently the food is quite bad].

      I’ve never actually had Ovaltine before.. is it any good?

  • brittany says:

    i love the subtle saturation in these, and all of your photos. i’m also massively jealous of those trees! i can’t wait for spring to begin over in this side of the world.

    how’d your flickr organizing go? i need to do that too, but flickr kind of [really] overwhelms me.

    • elsa says:

      Thank you! The trees are really nice here right now.. makes me happy to see that spring and warmer weather is on the way.

      The flickr organizing went okay, except for the fact that I uploaded a roll and half of film and already exceeded my upload quota for the month. I think I might invest in the upgrade if I decide I’m going to be using flickr more often.

  • ashley says:

    elsa, that tree in the first photo is perfect.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading DTES at you are here..

meta