one life stand

08/02/2010 § 2 Comments

So the Olympics are coming to Vancouver in only a few short days. I’m still not quite sure how I feel about it. Some kind of mixture of excitement and trepidation. It’s pretty contested, but I would say so far it seems that the support outweighs the criticism. I’m not exactly looking forward to the nightmare people are predicting in terms of getting downtown, but there’s lots of cool arts and cultural stuff going on which is probably what I’ll be mainly checking out. Oooh and free concerts!

Anyways, these are just a few more photos taken over the past few weeks downtown. I can’t find my camera’s battery charger.. I’m pretty bummed. I haven’t decided if I should just cave and buy a new one, but I know as soon as I do the old one will turn up somewhere.

But in other camera related news, I’ve been playing around with this old film camera my parents got me for my birthday 2 years ago [I know, it’s pathetic that it took me this long, but ENDS consumed my life]. I should be getting the film developed in the next few days, but so far I’ve just been messing around so I don’t know if there will be any post-worthy pics just yet. Here’s a pic of the actual camera though:

Oh and I just downloaded the new Hot Chip album [hence the post name] and it is fantastic!

§ 2 Responses to one life stand

  • Allison says:

    I can’t wait to see what you take with the film camera!!
    I’ll be interested to hear what you think of the olympics too… I’ve definitely read a lot of bad press about it.

    • elsa says:

      Yeah, it’s been pretty mixed here. I’m not really 100% sure where I stand on things, although I think there are things in the city that should probably be addressed before a multi-million dollar sporting event.. and a lot of the bureaucracy surrounding the event is totally ridiculous. But I guess we’ll see what happens..

      [I secretly kind of want to get out of town, haha]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading one life stand at you are here..

meta